How did you get your start in the music industry?

Getting into the music industry was a little haphazard, I was living in a town called Calgary, and pretty much the only way for me to be able to do pop music R&B music was if I got onto this one show, and on my last year that I was eligible to be a part of it, I got onto the show, and I got into a boyband. And I mean, that was pretty fun, I'll be honest. It was a nice stint! But through that, and through that show, I was able to finally get some eyes on me, and build some relationships that have led me to where I am today.

Tell us about the Johnny Graves concept, and the role you played on Cyberpunk 2077? (Also tell us what Cyberpunk 2077 is).

We can start with Cyberpunk 2077, which is a Triple A video game released by CD Projekt Red in 2020. I'm honestly super proud to be a part of it. I am essentially one of the most featured songwriters on the entire project, also having the theme song, Graves. And the way I was able to do that was using that voice acting ability, “city of dreams, city of gang.” Johnny Gr4ves as a whole, the concept revolves around that you're nobody until you're nowhere. Johnny being nobody nowhere really, and Gr4ves, until you're in your grave, right? And I truly believe that artists, they don't stop growing until they're gone, and so you can't really define the level of excellence until they are incapable of growing anymore.

What projects are you currently working on?

So currently, there's a couple projects in the works. But I am in the process of making history, making a little more history, let's talk about that. Because I am the first black male K-pop artist, and I did that, I accomplished that through writing my first song fully in Korean, with the help of [Yi-Chan] my Korean translator. And what I'm going to be doing is heading over to Korea and establishing myself over there, as we redefine what K-pop sounds like and also bring more culture to the global market.

Tell us, what's next for the Rusur project? What does the next era of the Rusur project entail?

Essentially I want to be opening up this project called Rusur, to a wider audience to demonstrate to them, hey, there's no rules, there's no boundaries, you make your own lane. And so what's next for the Rusur project? I'm going to open it up for other artists to come onto my platform and share their voice. I really want to make sure that I'm always giving back, with the knowledge that I've gained, and so mentoring other artists who are really driven to seek the best within themselves, those are the things that I'm really trying to focus on. My whole life has been a process of demonstrating how infinite we can be. With every single day, I want to move forward in some facet, to continuously build my skills, to continuously demonstrate that hey, this is what we can do. So, to anyone listening, stay curious, stay creative, stay searching for yourself. I love you, you matter, and don't ever forget it! This is Rusur, stay Rougie.